Most developed countries spend a large proportion of their health budgets on expensive medical technology and procedures. This money should be spent/ instead on health education to keep people well.

There is no doubt that criminals tend to commit more crimes upon serving the first punishment. This is because of the lack of rehabilitation facilities, to incorporate the individuals to lead a normal life. This essay will discuss how the lack of settlement services promote criminal behaviour and also suggest solutions to solve the issue. Firstly, the main reason to re-offend for the first time prisoners is the lack of rehabilitation services. In other words, the prisoners are not given a chance to learn new skills for their future or develop a deeper understanding of their behaviour and are instead mixed up with other criminals, which negatively affect them. Besides, most companies require a criminal check before they offer a job, which does not go in their favour. As a result, many of them struggle financially and this leads them back to crime. To counter this issue, the prisoners should be given a chance to retrain with useful life skills which would ensure them a job after serving the sentence. For instance, learning carpenter skills could help them support their family and lead a successful life. Another method of dealing is to have more supervision and checks when they are back in society, This would prevent them from taking any chances and deter offending because of the watch. In conclusion, having skill training in prison and close observation when first-time offenders are released, is effective in dealing with the issue. If governments implemented these solutions, the crime figures would drop.