In many countries these days, the number of people continuing their education after school has increased and the range of courses available in universities and colleges has also increased. Do you think this is a positive or negative development

It is argued by some people that both the wealthy and those with little means find it challenging to gain admission into a university. I agree with this notion because accessibility to university is often based on academic merits and there is a limit to the number of students each higher institution can admit. First of all, a major reason for the difficult accessibility to higher institutions by the wealthy and the poor is because the university's admissions are often based on academic performance. Therefore, students who meet the requirements for admission into colleges are offered admission first, even if the ability to pay tuition would be considered later. For instance, in Nigeria, a credit pass in Mathematics and English is a prerequisite for undergraduate studies in federal universities. As a result, both the rich and the poor who fall short of these requirements would not be admitted to the university. Furthermore, there is a limit to the number of students who can be offered admission in various universities. In other words, universities will not admit more than the number of students the resources of the university would cater to and all students are subjected to this system. For instance, most higher institutions in Nigeria admit between 4000 and 10000 undergraduates annually. Thus, since both the rich and the poor are subjected to this quota system, no one is favoured. In conclusion, I agree with the view that both the affluent and the poor face the same difficulty inaccessibility to university education because both must meet academic requirements for admission and many universities have a limit on the number of yearly intakes, which equally affects everyone.