Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development, however, others think the social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is perceived by most countries that by developing their economy, the living standard of their people could be improved, but there are those who believe that economic growth could result in loss of social values. It is certainly true that countries with developed economies have improved their people's lives because of their advanced standard of public services such as health and education. Improved health care can improve the quality of life through treating diseases and increasing people's life expectancy. Also, increased educational standards can give the population a greater diversity of skills and literacy. This enables greater opportunity and freedom. In my knowledge, I have learned that education is seen as an important development of welfare and happiness. However, while we can obviously see the benefits of a developed economy, there are other people who perceive that this could lead to losing of social values. It means that with higher economic growth, this may result in longer hours of work. Then working parents would not have enough quality time to spend with their children. Hence, children will tend to emulate their bad influence peers and eventually involve to an antisocial activity or juvenile delinquency, for instance, the unguided young teenagers, mainly African and Caribbean Americans in New York City in the 20th century. In conclusion, I certainly believe that through developing national economy, it will give people a better quality of life. Although it could affect families negatively, this would be just a little impact compared to the many benefits it could give to its society in terms of health and educational services.