Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development, however, others think the social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last few decades, many countries are aggressively involved in improving the economic condition and uplifting the living standard of the people. Whereas, on the other hand, there are also people who believe that in the race of improving the living standard, people are neglecting the social values. I also believe that people nowadays are more concerned about possessing materialistic success which has overshadowed the need for social values. Countries and people are competing with one another in order to achieve success in jobs, business, and politics. However, in the competition of “who will come first”, they have outweighed the importance of social value such as love, humanity, service, compassion etc. Economic development has helped people to access latest technologies, possess wealth and medical services but along, ith that they are losing social values. Nowadays, people have good modern medical facilities but side by side they also have lots of diseases such as high blood pressure, diabetes, depression etc. Even rich people are unhappy in their lives and lots of teenagers are tends to commit suicide because they are lonely and do not have supporting families, friends and societies who can encourage them. In addition, people have car and vehicles to save their travelling time, cellular phone to talk with people from one country to another country, internet services to connect with people thus; they do not have time to enjoy with their families and friends. People are so busy these days that they don’t even bother to know what is going in their neighbour’s life. In conclusion, economic development along is not enough to satisfy human need thus, social values are as equally important as possessing economic development and improved living standard. In order to maximise the quality of life, people should not outweigh the social values.