Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

The government is responsible for funding the arts because most artists do not make enough money to support themselves. In my opinion, I strongly agree that the government ought to support artists as it will greatly bring more benefits to both individuals and society. A good reason why the government is obligated to support the arts is that art is a way to express ideas and communicate concepts as people can learn from art and be inspired by it. The arts are always used to teach people about their own culture and history. For example, around three-quarters of all paintings in the Egyptian museum are talking about the traditional lifestyles and the conventional foods in Upper Egypt. Therefore, by looking at these drawings, I will be able to learn about the ways of life of our ancestors. Another point to consider is that art encourages creativity and promotes harmony in society. To put it another way, art encourages children to express themselves through creativity, and therefore, children enjoy creating drawings that represent their daily life. For instance, students at schools generally use drawings to talk about any problem that they are facing in real life. Furthermore, art helps children develop social skills such as cooperation by doing art projects. These projects will also teach them critical thinking skills. Finally, the government is responsible for protecting the arts because, without government funding, many artists will not be able to support themselves. This will lead to the extinction of the art galleries and museums. Moreover, this will result in increasing the unemployment rate among artists. To cite an example, the Egyptian government donated over ten millions of dollars to an art gallery in Cairo because the art gallery does not have enough fund to organize an exhibition to sell its paintings. This funding saved the art gallery from closing its doors in front of art-loving visitors. In conclusion, spending more money on the arts is a must for any country that wants to promote its cultural heritage among other nations. Also, art has a vital role in society by teaching people their own culture and history.