Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue their work.

Nowadays, artists are not earning enough money to fulfill their needs. Some people suggest providing financial assistance to them. However, this may be of little help, but I am a strong opponent of this idea. Supporters of state funding to artists can give only few reasons to support their stand. First and foremost, culture of any country is closely linked and reflected through arts. Providing sufficient monetary support to artists may be beneficial for them to work in a relax environment, free from any financial stress. Thus, artists may work better to promote the culture of their country. Furthermore, though artists may possess unique skills in their fields, they lack any marketable product which they can sell to earn their living. For example, a civil engineer can construct a building and a software engineer can code a program. Hence, government should help them to have a better life. However, providing monthly allowances to artists would have only short come outcomes. Government should adopt better strategies to integrate artists with other profitable industries. For instance, artists should be given required education and training to work in other fields along with arts. Furthermore, government should spend public money on other important areas such as health and education. Providing every citizen an easy access to quality health and education will develop a progress society that is self sufficient to earn its living. To conclude, while budgetary grants to artists may promote culture of any country, I strongly believe that spending on public health, education and training would eradicate poverty from society.