Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them continue with their work.

Many people are of the opinion that artists who do not earn a decent income should be supported by the government. I do not agree with this point of view because I believe government funding should be spent on pressing social problems and also because artists can find alternative sources of income to support themselves. Government funding should be used to deal with pressing problems rather than support artists. Investment in the art industry contributes little to improving the standard of living of the general public. Art, after all, has been considered as luxury item by the majority of people and has nothing to do with their everyday life. By contrast, education and health care are more closely related to people’s well being. By pouring more money to these areas, the government can make education more affordable and accessible for young people and thus provide them better opportunities for their future employment. At the same time, state funding also enables medical facilities function properly and this can offer better health services to citizens. All these improvements contribute to the betterment of people’s lives. Moreover, like any other professionals artists can find other financial resources and support themselves. To begin with, artists can cooperate with other organizations and companies by providing creative ideas and graphic designs. This helps them to earn extra income and reduce their reliance on government help. Another point is that artists nowadays can take advantages of the modern technology such as social media networking to promote their own artworks and sell them worldwide. To conclude, in my perspective, government funding should be spent on education and health care so as to benefit more people and artists should find alternative financial resources by selling their creative ideas and artworks.