Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others consider they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions.

While some people believe that creative and independent candidates should be preferred by employers, others argue that they should hire people who are team players and can follow the guidelines. This essay will discuss both the above-mentioned views and will also prove why the nature of the task involved should determine who the right candidate is. Hiring candidates who are innovative and can work independently leads to the optimum utilization of resources. These types of people do not depend on others for help and motivation. They are self-sufficient to perform the given task. For example, they can build a website or an app without the help of his/her co-workers. So, the employer can make the best use of their skills. However, some people feel that candidates who are good team-players and can follow the instructions will give more benefits to the organisation. According to them, working as a team brings the scope of different inputs and collective decision-making. Brain-storming on different ideas results in the selection of the best and improved idea. This discussion is generally done under some unified instructions which help employees to be on one track. For example, creating an advertisement theme requires a team with different inputs of ideas, discussions and collective effort working under the guidelines given by the client. So, people who can perform well in a team and can follow guidelines are advantageous for employers. In my opinion, the type of candidate to be recruited depends on the nature of the work. If the work is more technical and does not require brain-storming on many ideas then it is best to hire people who are innovative and self-sufficient. On the other hand, team players and instruction followers are required for the task which requires the influx of different ideas, discussions and collective efforts. For instance, designing a costume can be done by one person whereas designing an airport requires a big team. In conclusion, this essay discussed both the contrasting views regarding the consideration of an independent candidate or a team player and it agreed that for maximum utilisation of resources and quality work delivery, employers should hire candidates based on the work requirements.