More people are spending their free time watching movies. Why is this? Is it a good thing or bad thing?

In recent times, an increasingly large number of people are opting to watch movies in their leisure time because movies provide entertainment and relaxation. In my opinion, it is a positive trend, as long as it is done in moderation. To begin with, watching movies is considered by many as the perfect way to unwind after a hard day at work. Elaborating further, most of the people these days have a hectic schedule and stressful jobs, and they look forward to the ways through which they can relax their mind and body. In their opinion, movies not only entertain them but also help them forget their tensions and worries. Besides this, there are no physical or mental efforts required to watch movies which again makes them the most preferred choice since the majority of the jobs nowadays are challenging and require a lot of efforts. In my view, watching movies is definitely a good idea as it gives people the much-needed break from their regular strenuous routine. What’s more, many people watch movies with their family and friends, making it a social activity. However, one should not spend all their free time watching movies. They need to take out some time for doing exercise as well. Since many people spend most of their time to watch movies they are left with no time to exercise and thus develop health problems at a young age. To recapitulate, watching movies in one’s free time has gained popularity in recent times because people consider it as the perfect way to relax. I believe that it is a positive development which helps people to socialize and gives them a break from their monotonous schedule. Nevertheless, people should ensure that they are not spending inordinate amounts of time watching movies.