More people are spending their free time watching movies. Why is this? Is it a good thing or bad thing?

The trend of watching movies when people are free, is currently increasing these days. This essay will discuss why this change has occurred, including the booming development of movie making technologies and affordable prices. This essay will also explain why I believe the impact of this trend on our life can be positive. There are various compelling reasons why going to the theater in the spare time is gaining popularity nowadays and the prominent one is that the film industry is incredibly developing in recent years compared to the past as advancements in technology enables filmmakers to produce a wide range of movies to attract more people to watch them and satisfy their emotional needs. Additionally, the affordable prices of watching movies is also making meaningful contributions to this tendency. Take myself for example, the most popular social activity for me and my friends is going to the theater after dinner because everyone can afford and enjoy it. Therefore, a growing number of people opt to do this in their spare time. Looking at this in a big picture, it generates positive consequences for us. The crucial beneficial factor of this tendency is that it can effectively stimulate the economic growth as the tertiary industry, which plays a vital role in the economic development will be significantly benefitted by this. For instance, a recent study conducted in Japan has revealed that the film industry is one of the pillar industries of the country’s economy. As can be seen, this advantage has a profound impact on our society. To sum up, the trend of watching movies to kill free time is being increasingly witnessed these days. This essay discussed why it is happening, such as the development of film making technologies and cheaper prices. This essay also explained why this trend is beneficial for our society.