Rich countries should allow jobs for skilled and knowledgeable employee who are from poor countries.

These days, there is an increase in international job opportunities. It is argued by some people that professionals from undeveloped countries should be permited to work in wealthy countries. I disagree with this notion because it would lead to wastage of funds poor countries used to train these professionals and it would worsen development challenges in some parts of the world. Firstly, when wealthy countries employ knowledgeable and skilled workers from poor countries, there will be loss of government funds that was used to train these workers. This is because some underdeveloped countries subsidize university education for their citizens with the hope to get back some of these funds from salaries and taxation when the students become professionals or through the provision of essential services by these trained workers. For example, some state governments in Nigeria provide bursaries and scholarships for indigent medical students. When these ones become medical doctors, they are expected to impact positively towards health care in their states and contribute to the training of students. Therefore when such skilled workers emigrate to rich countries, the resources used to train them would be wasted. Secondly, when professionals from poor countries are allowed to work in wealthy nations, their countries' development would be impeded. This would result from shortage of skilled employee needed to manage various sectors of their home countries. For instance, experts have identified brain drain as the major factor for poor developmental strives in the Nigerian society. Therefore, if professionals from poor countries are not granted work permits in economically advantaged nations, they would contribute to development in their countries. In conclusion, when knowledgeable and skilled people from poor areas of the world are offered employment in developed countries, poor countries will continue to lag behind in development and money used for the training of these workers would be lost. Efforts geared towards providing lucrative employment opportunities in undeveloped countries should be promoted.