The best way to solve the traffic congestion in city is to provide free public transport for 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

In recent times, traffic congestion has increased tremendously in all major cities around the world. Some people argue that that the best solution for this issue is to provide public transport for 24 hours a day and for all 7 days and I completely agree on this. On the one hand, some are of the opinion that private vehicles are a need and they have few valid points regarding the same. Firstly, public transport system is not that advanced in many cities and their availability is also minimal. Secondly, it is not that frequent especially during peak hours and hence it is difficult for working people and students to depend fully on this. Besdies, the quality and service is also not up to the mark in many places and this motivate people to have their own transportation, which will in turn result in the increase of traffic. Moreover, having own vehicle helps to prioritise the needs and give a control over the timings and life style since they do not have to rush to catch a train or a bus. On the other hand, another set of people, including me, believe that the governemnt should provide public transportation facilities whole day and night so that everyone can fully depend on this. First of all, there should be an increase in the quality and number of public transports like trains and buses and it should be more frequent so that the citizens will not think about own vehicles. This in turn will help to reduce the number of vehicles on the road, thereby reducing the traffic to a great extent. For example, the government of Singapore has an extensive and highly effective local transport system that includes air-conditioned buses and trains and this has paved the way for less private vehicle. Although people have the money to own a car or a bike, since the public transport is so much comfortable and faster, many prefer to opt for this. This has caused a tremendous impact in their traffic problems. Besides, this will also help to reduce pollution since the number of vehciles using fuel is less. To conclude, traffic is a growing problem in many cities all over the world and it is high time, we should find a solution. In my opinion, providing comfortable public transport option will definetely help to reduce this, thereby decreasing pollution.