More houses are needed in many countries to cope with increasing populations. Would it be better to build houses in existing towns and cities, or to develop new towns in rural areas?

With the unprecedented growth of population in many countries around the world today, residential needs are growing. Some people may argue that it is better to build houses in existing cities while others opine that the countryside would be better for this. In my opinion, both options have their merits and demerits and the government should consider them both. On the one hand, expansion of existing cities is a good idea as they are already functioning and have many proper infrastructures. For instance, electricity connection and water supply can be easily installed for newly build homes. If more people join this group, there won't be any discomfort. In fact, they will also contribute towards the development and economic growth of that area by serving and paying taxes. Therefore, this would be a cheaper, easier and more convenient way of accommodating the growing population. However, there would be many harsh problems namely traffic congestion, air pollution and scarcity of public resources. At the same time, the government should be alert to regional imbalances caused by the growing development gap between urban and rural area. On the other hand, by developing new towns in rural areas government can improve the economy of the country since this trend has a positive impact on the local people by providing more job opportunities and bringing incomes for local people. Moreover, it would be a potent motivation for affluent people to invest money on these building projects. In addition, the creation of new small towns will discourage people from migrating to big cities and alleviate all aspects of problems in metropolitan cities. However, this may also lead to the occupation of agricultural production resources, which will have a negative impact on the agricultural economy. For example, China's cultivated land area has been reduced in recent years because of its urban construction, and agricultural production is facing unprecedented challenges. In conclusion, I believe that the problem of building houses for the increasing population can be tackled by expanding existing cities and constructing new towns. In either case, it is important for the government to ensure that adequate facilities are in place before cities are expanded or built.