More houses are needed in many countries to cope with increasing populations. Would it be better to build houses in existing towns and cities, or to develop new towns in rural areas?

It is true, that the world has seen a large increase in population, in the last few decades. New houses are to be built to meet the increasing population in a large number of countries. It is a good decision that, new residential buildings should not be built in the existing urban areas as it creates more problems, rather, they should be built in the rural areas. In many places, the existing towns and cities have reached their maximum capacity in terms of residential and commercial buildings. Increasing it further leads to several problems such as more congestion, more traffic on roads and increased pollution which might lead to serious health problems for the people living around these places. Furthermore, the expenditure on land acquisition for new buildings would be high, thus increasing the overall cost. For example, The Daily Times published last month, states that cost of new apartments has increased by 40 percent in the last year. Although developing rural areas negatively impacts the natural ecosystem around these places, it has many benefits. It is easy and cheap to acquire land in the countryside and hence the overall cost of buildings would be much lesser. This helps people, even with low income, to easily afford for accommodation. Eventually, new hospitals and commercial centres will be set up which in-turn will provide easy access to the people living in nearby places. For instance, the number of lives saved has increased by 20% due to easy access. Also, this would create, uniformity in population densities across many regions. In conclusion, developing new towns in rural areas, has many benefits than further expanding the urban areas, for the new houses. Proper measures should be implemented, to control the damages caused to the natural ecosystem, while developing new towns in the rural areas.