More houses are needed in many countries to cope with increasing populations. Would it be better to build houses in existing towns and cities, or to develop new towns in rural areas?

The population around the globe is on a steep rise. It is believed that for managing the expanding population, a number of new houses in the countryside areas are needed, to which I have dissenting views. On one hand, if the people get shifted to rural areas then numerous problems will arise. The foremost being, the calm and serene environment of these unmediated places will get disturbed, in turn, affecting the public living in these places. Moreover, the land which is used for raising cattles and farming will get depleted; as a consequence, the problem of food scarcity may arise in the future. Additionally, these remote areas cover sizeable forest lands, which are home to a number of wildlife species. Destruction of these areas will ultimately affect their natural habitat. For instance, a study has shown that the wild animals such as hares in Australia are on the verge of extinction because of decreasing agricultural land, which is their main source of food. On the other hand, the government can introduce various solutions so as to accommodate the rise in population in the Towns and cities. Firstly, for making new houses, instead of farmland, barren lands must be used. Secondly, new multi-storey building projects must be approved in order to shelter more population in rather congested areas. Last but not the least, the governing bodies must lay emphasis on promoting apartments in the cities rather than allotting big houses and bungalows to a single family, which will help in dwelling a larger number of families. To illustrate this, the government of China has restricted the purchase of land to a smaller number in order to cope with the increasing population in the country. To conclude, in my opinion, the peaceful surroundings offered by the farming area must be kept intact and the innovative solutions of coping up with the population growth must be introduced.