Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

As a result of the growth of supermarkets in some countries, many local businesses have died out. Some people argue that without local business, local communities will not exist. In my opinion, even though the closure of regional enterprises may bring some difficulties to the local community, it will not endanger their existence. Lack of traditional retail stores in a locality may pose some problems to the local population. People have to travel to the nearest shopping center to get the items. It is a more expensive and time consuming activity compared to getting the items from local shops. In addition to this, in case of any emergency, when people do not have much time to waste to get the item, lack of local shops may put them in more trouble. For example, if some visitors turn up unexpectedly, the presence of small stores nearby will help people to treat them adequately. Even though local population have to encounter certain difficulties due to the lack of small retail stores, it will not affect their existence. In the modern society, there are many supermarkets and shopping malls in all towns and cities. And also, people love to travel to these places and enjoy their shopping. In fact, in the current society, people prefer to buy items from supermarkets and shopping malls as these places offer many facilities such as cinema halls and restaurants for people to enjoy. Cheap transportation modes are also available to go to nearby shopping centers. In conclusion, although the closure of regional shops may affect the local population negatively to a small extent, it will not threaten their existence.