More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem.

Many developed countries face a grave problem of increasing child obesity which poses a severe threat to these wealthy nations. It is mainly happening due to current trends and practices followed by its people, which is having detrimental effects on the person as well as the country. The root problem of increasing overweight children lies in the poor standards of child upbringing and negligence amongst parents. The child receives an unhealthy diet, emphasis on sports or exercise is not given. Moreover, parents are not vigilant of their children's needs and neglecting their health due to their stressful life. Furthermore, many advertisements falsely display high-calorie food as healthy, which is having a negative influence on children as they are not able to distinguish proper diet from the bad. For example, fast-food chains advertise their food to be rich in protein, vitamins and roughage, but in reality, it is full of sugar and fats. Child obesity is affecting the country in several ways. The next generation of the workforce will be unhealthy, unfit to work and unable to perform several tasks, particularly high endurance activities. It also affects them physically and mentally. For example, overweight children have constant body image problems which lead to depression. Obesity causes a multitude of diseases which is putting unnecessary pressure on the country's health care system to treat children overweight, which could be better utilized to treat patients with fatal diseases. In conclusion, the current methods and unhealthy trends of living in developed countries are resulting overweight among children, thus endangering its future. Therefore, the government, along with its people, should work together to eradicate the issue of child obesity to ensure a healthy and prosperous future.