More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem.

Obesity is a serious issue often ignored by most people. An Increase in the number of obese children in the strongest economies of the world is of growing concern. This essay will discuss few causes and effects of this pressing situation. Firstly, the major reason for gaining weight is imbalanced diet. Fast paced work culture has changed our food habits, and often kids are served with fast foods with high fat content. Moreover, vegetables and fruits are becoming least favourite of children. According to the world health organization, six of every ten children are obese in the developed countries, and imbalanced diet was one among the other reasons. Sadly, gaining a lot of weight at a very young age may cause chronic diseases. The government agencies must take necessary actions to increase public awareness about healthy diet and arrange a good balanced diet in schools. Secondly, sedentary lifestyle of young people due to modern electronics, decrease the physical activity, while increasing the body weight. Easy access to electronics such as smart phones, tablets and computers, along with high-speed internet connectivity have decreased the fitness levels in children. For instance, my niece prefers to stay home and play online games, rather to go out and play with kids in the neighbourhood. Unfortunately, this is the story of every house. Parents must take time to engage them in sports and other activities such as, dance and martial arts for overall physical and mental wellbeing. Finally, the lifestyle issues of poor diet and lack of fitness are major reasons for obese children. Public health agencies should campaign about healthy living and arrange awareness camps in local health centers and schools for better results.