More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem.

In the last 50 years, an increasingly number of people are becoming fat or even obese and this trend is worring especially for many children, who are experincing all the drawbacks of being overweight since an early age. In this essay I' m going to discuss some of the causes and effects of this awful phenomenon. Nowadays we are experiencing a pervasive advertisement about food, some of it specifically targeted to the youngest. Almost all children like the sweet and the corporations know that, so they develop specific publicitarian campaigns for this public, sometimes using testimonials who are appealing for a young public, such as football players, singers or even characters chosen from the cartoons. The effects of those unscrupolous campaigns are severe, because the child automatically associate the so-called " junk food" with a specific behaviour of his favourite " hero" . For example, many fast-food chains design their mascottes in a fun way, depicting them as clowns to better engage the children and to create a constant " party athmosfere" associated with the food consumption. Beside the food abuse, another important cause is the sedentary lifestyle. Just a few decades ago, the children were used to play a lot of active games, usually outdoor. In every neightborood, there were groups of children playing football, hide-and-seek, and many other games who make them active. Currently, the games are mostly electronic and played indoor. During my childhood, for instance, I was used to spend the summer holidays in the countryside, with my grandparents, and I was out to play with my friends most of the time; my younger cousins, on the contrary ar far more sedentary and, even they have many friends, they spend the time mostly at home. To summarize, the two most important causes of the growing infant overweight are the power of the advertisement and the constant decline of the outdoor activities, the first is related with an unbalanced died, the second is responsible a lack of exercise.