More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Owing to human activities, many species of wild animals are struggling to survive. This had driven many of them to the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. There are several reasons for this. On the bright side, there are also certain measures that we can take to resolve this problem. The main cause of extinction of the wild animals is deforestation which is done to facilitate the expansion and development of urban areas. Due to this, wild animals lose their natural habitat and this puts their lives at risk. Many of them are forced to wander into villages for food. However, since they pose a threat to people’s lives and property, they are often killed. Excessive poaching is another reason for the extinction of many wild animals. They are killed for the production of luxury goods such as leather bags, shoes and fur coats. There are several measures that the government and the public can take to undo the damage done to wildlife. First and foremost, the government should launch nationwide campaigns to sensitise people about the importance of conserving wildlife. In addition, there should be strict laws to prevent poaching. The media and the activists can also contribute their bit. They should discourage people from buying products made of animal skin or fur. To conclude, human activities such as deforestation and mindless hunting are the major reasons for the extinction of wildlife. By enacting strict laws that stop or at least reduce deforestation and poaching, wild animals can be saved from the brink of extinction.