More and more students at university today are not choosing to study science. Why is this happening? What are the effects of this?

Higher education was generally associated with scientific subjects; graduates were subsequently regarded as those who possess great amount knowledge in their respective field of study. However, more and more undergraduates are opting for non-scientific (namely artistic) subjects for their university diplomas, and has gravitated noticeable concern from the public. I believe such worrisome attitude is uncalled for and this phenomenon should be regarded as one aspect of the modernizing society. To embark on, one could argue that this trend is induced by rapid automation in myriad job fields. The invention of computers and AIs lifts the burden for human to do mechanical and labour-intensive jobs, allowing them to work on more specialized fields. While such development requires more manpower on technological innovation - which requires STEM-related knowledge - it also allows more juveniles to independently develop their artistic prowess. Over time, the environment between professionals become more competitive as more young talents enter the market; requiring many aspiring artists to study art as a university major. This has brought forth many implications for society at large, most of which are arguably positive. Historically, art is generally put on a high pedestal for its capability to both unite and inspire the general mass. For example, the stability of the Renaissances’ Italy has been attributed to the countless masterpieces of the time that spark interest in theology and Christianity in general. While avant-garde artists may attract more controversies than interest, it still made many ponder about the true nature of human creativity in the age of machines. All in all, the rise in art graduates signifies the diversifying interests of young generations in response to mass automation; while art itself has become timelier than ever as our conventional model of what a human constitutes became less relevant over time.