Nowadays, it seems that people tend to waste a great amount of food. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

These days, it has become a trend to try different types of food varieties and if disliked, it is wasted. There are very many reasons for the development of these kinds of habits. I will explain them in detail and will also give some solutions to solve this problem. Primarily, with the economic growth in the countries, people are able to earn more wealth than earlier times. Which in turn allows them to spend on different things, one such expenditure is on food. One of the main causes of food wastage is available and costs far less. As traditional methods of cooking food at home has diminished, it has been replaced by cheaper and freely available meal choices. Though, they are usually unhealthy fast food, however as they are sold at cheaper prices, allows the public to try out and waste them if not liked. On the other hand, if some dish is prepared at home, even if it is not to your liking, even then one would not throw it away as it has been made with a lot of effort and time. Whereas, commonly sold foodstuff are brought without much thought and carelessly discarded. Another possible reason could be the new fashion diets cropping up day in day out, particularly affecting the female population to try these diets it order to get in shape. For example, girls who are on a protein diet for a week, jump over to a vegan diet, without giving much thought to all those protein products brought earlier to go into the bin. Though there are plenty more reasons, these are some basic causes discussed. With regards to the solution to this problem, I believe, parents need to instil in their children from a very young age not to waste food and give them some practical examples by they themselves following it. Moreover, they need to be informed, about poverty and underprivileged children and adults in many countries in Africa and Asia to name a few. In my view, even the government should encourage food banks and condemn wastage of food. With the consideration of the above reasons, one needs to learn to appreciate the availability of food on this planet and should not wasted rather shared through food banks throughout the community among the poor and homeless people. I reiterate, parents need to inculcate these habits in children from a very young age, which will go a long way and create a responsible society.