More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

The trend of studying abroad is currently increasing. Although, it gives individual the opportunity to gain significant experiences that will reward them later on in their careers, getting used to of culture and linguistic is a real struggle. I believe that the positive points of studying overseas surpass the negative aspects. The most beneficial factor of studying in foreign country is that it accelerates the pace at which an individual grows as it pushes them out of their comfort zone, thus providing more options for future career. Students unleashed their hidden talent when they go through these practical situations which in turn increase their knowledge and experience. To illustrate, when I was studying in Norway, I had to balance my career, studies and social life, which I believe would not be challenging if I stayed in my own country. Moreover, educational institutes of developed countries are better equipped and have experienced staff. For instance, many educational providers are able to offer the best lecturers and high qualified staff through blended learning approach combining online and face to face classes. These significant challenges make them a better person along with great learning. Turning to the other side of the argument, the main challenges a student will face is cultural and linguistic difference. To get used to of the new culture and language takes time, which hinders socializing. For example, many students of South Asian countries travel to western countries face difficulties in day to day tasks because of the communication gap. In addition, a down side to studying abroad is that they will be separated from their families for a very long time. This is because these students live in countries that are far away from their homeland. This often leads to homesickness and in some cases a sense of isolation. On the contrary, the presence of social media has brought about ways of connecting people from all over the world. Studying overseas has become incredibly common. This opens significant avenues for learning and practical exposures though they have to cope with cultural and language barriers. In my opinion, these hurdles do not hold much significance compared to the experience and knowledge gained.