More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. 1. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad? 2. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, lots of students are willing to study at colleges and universities in another country. But studying abroad is a two-sided affair and this essay will discuss both the pros and cons of this decision. It is clear that studying in another country has many benefits. Firstly, we can have access to a better education. When studying at prestigious universities, students have the chance to learn with lecturers who are experts in their fields. Secondly, we can get better job opportunities. A degree from a prestigious university can be an advantage when applying for a job at a company. In addition, students studying abroad can gain numerous life skills as long as experiences helpful for their future life. Finally, studying abroad broaden students' horizons. Overseas students are exposed to different cultures and customs. They now can perceive that the world is much more prodigious and beautiful than they would imagine. Studying abroad, however, also has some drawbacks. To begin with, some students experience culture shock at first. They don't understand what people consider polite or rude; therefore, they may offend people without even realizing. Furthermore, living away from home can be challenging. Students may deal with financial problems such as accommodation and food. Others probably feel homesick. Last but not least, language is a huge barrier when you move to another country. For instance, you cannot understand the lecture due to your poor language. In other cases, you definitely find it hard to make yourself understood. In all, studying abroad is both advantageous and disadvantageous. It depends on how you overcome drawbacks and make your overseas time precious and valuable.