More and more prisons are being built to house the world’s criminals, and many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, others feel that psychological assistance is what is required.

Nowadays, the crime rate is significantly increasing thus, leaving the government no option but to construct additional prison cells for the law offenders. Some people say that putting criminals in jail for a long period is the solution to the increasing rate of unlawful act. Others believe that psychological therapy plays an important role. This essay agrees that providing assistance psychologically is a better solution. Many people feel that criminals, especially the ones that have committed grave offense should be held in prison for a long period of time as their punishment. The reason for the long-term imprisonment is to prevent them in committing more wrong doings and harm to other citizens. However, I believe that putting felons in jail for a long time will not reduce the crime rate because it does not fix the root cause of the problem. To give an example, in the Philippines, they sentence rapist with more than 20 years of imprisonment but still the percentage of rape cases in the said country did not drop. Convicts should also be given second chance to try to live a decent life provided that they were able to show remorse and positive change in their behavior. The government could provide psychological assessment and evaluation to determine their capacity to change and to avoid unlawful doings once they are release. In addition, those in authority could propose livelihood trainings to inmates that would be beneficial to them whether they are inside or outside jail. It is agreed that this option is more beneficial. For instance, in Cambodia Women’s Jail, their senate is providing them with seminars in tailoring and crafts making that they could use as a livelihood once they are set free. While many will not be in favor of helping criminals to change for the better because they deserve to be punished for their wrong doings, it is therefore agreed that molding them to become a good and law abiding citizen is a promising solution.