More and more prisons are being built to house the world’s criminals and many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, others feel that medical and psychological assistance is what is required.

People do not all feel the same about criminals. For some people, it is clear that lawbreakers should be imprisoned for their illegal activities. For others, psychological solutions would be a better way to tackle rising crime. From my point of view, I believe that the combination of both perspectives would tremendously address this controversial topic. On the one hand, promoting the prison term is an acceptable method which has been used as a traditional pattern in many nations. First and foremost, it plays a vital role in an alarm to warn future crimes. Someone with a negative, criminal thought would be appalled due to the long-term detainment, consequently not committing a crime. Besides, lifelong detentions in prison could potentially restrain convicts from reoffending. On the flip side, it is quite common for medical and mental assistance in various nations, such as Switzerland and Hong Kong, with the lowest and second-lowest crime rate in the world. According to detectives and investigators, committing a crime is relevant to psychological issues. In simpler terms, patients having an illusion of becoming heroes or suffering from stimulant syndromes due to heroin and alcohol could break the laws in unconscious conditions. For this reason, treatment of diseases will be a suitable method, helping patients to gain their consciousness and reintegrate into the community. To sum up, I firmly believe that governments should support the idea of linking both approaches as a way to treat criminals because it clearly shows them deterrence as well as humane.