More and more prisons are being built to house the world’s criminals and many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, others feel that medical and psychological assistance is what is required.

It is irrefutable that the crime is increasing everywhere on the globe at mammoth rate. There is an increase in number of constructing jails for the offenders around the globe. It is often argued that the lifetime imprisonment is the solution to tackle with the lawless act, while others believed that medical and mental aid is the answer. This essay will discuss both the arguments in detail and provide an appropriate opinion. To begin with, it is commonly believed by people that lifelong imprisonment is the remedial measure to prevent criminals from committing crime. By the time, they will realise their mistake and improve their behaviour. For instance, in a survey, it is found that 80% offenders has improved their behaviour after the release from the prison. Therefore, lifetime imprisonment is always the best option to punish the inmates. On the other hand, many believed that providing the criminals with proper medical and psychological care will seize the offenders to resort to illegal activity. If the inmates are given the medical care of their mental illness, it will improve their health and they will stop committing misdeeds. For example, according to a research, 50% criminals in jail are mentally ill. Providing them with proper medical treatment will aid in their rehabilitation. Overall, mentally sick offenders should be given mental therapy. To conclude, the crime rate is increasing exponentially around the world. Although some individuals believed that it can be solved by lifelong imprisonment, others think that this issue can be tackled by giving the inmates proper cognitive treatment. In my opinion, individuals who are high risk to the society should be given lifetime imprisonment and this who are mentally ill should be given medical treatment.