More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

In a developing economy, the desire for brand names is on the rise. I strongly believed that this is a negative development. There are many reasons why the brand is the first thing that is on people' s mind when it comes to buying products. Advertisements are everywhere, they appear on TV, Internet and on the street billboards. Their slogans and dashing logos find their ways into our brains, drawing buyers toward their products. We all want one thing - famous brands. For example, when it comes to fast food, the first few places that come to our mind will be KFC, McDonald' s and Burger King. As wages improved, the need for better products are in high demand. Consumers believed that famous branded products mean better quality and services. However, I believed that this trend is hurting the culture. When foreign famous brands are widely popular, the local brands will suffer. This will cause the market to loose its diversity and less competitions. For example, traditional clothes in some ethnic enclaves have totally disappeared replaced by products from the West such as rigged jeans and sneakers. Moreover, some brands have dominated the segment giving smaller brands less room to grow. Even when the products from the local brands have superior quality, consumers still prefer similar product from a well known brand with inferior quality. In conclusion, when people consider purchases like clothes and household items, they should give local brands a fair chance. They may be in for a pleasant surprise.