More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

For a variety of reasons, there has been an increase in the number of people who are obsessed with famous brands when buying new clothes, cars, watches and other items. In my opinion, this is largely detrimental to a lot of people. The first reason for such an obsession with purchasing brand name products is the influence of modern advertising. On a daily basis, we are bombarded by countless TV commercials and magazine advertisements that encourage us to associate certain brands with a higher social status. As a result, an increasing number of people are convinced that owning and using those advertised products is a symbol of success. Another cause is the rising living standard in most countries. With many people earning a better salary, the pursuit of higher quality of life has been popular. This stimulates consumers with higher affordability to choose products of prestigious brands, which are widely believed to be more durable, well designed and dedicatedly produced. Although being a loyal customer to famous brands allows people to enjoy both material and spiritual satisfactions, I strongly believe that this kind of shopping preference has significant negative impacts. Firstly, as the concept that big brands represent wealth and success prevails, people living on a tight budget are also likely to be lured to follow this trend, which will cause them to spend the money borrowed from the bank and finally end up with serious debt troubles. In addition, being addicted to famous brands leads people to buy things that may not suit them best. For example, to follow the latest trend set by influential brands, many people would buy shoes and clothes that neither fit their personalities nor their lifestyles. In conclusion, due to the influence of advertising and the rise in people’s incomes, the popularity of buying famous brand goods has been increasing, which, from my point of view, generates undesirable outcomes.