The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum.

Hospitals and medical centres are stressed because of the increasing number of people who have an unhealthy weight. Certain individuals believe that the best way to manage this issue is to have more physical education (PE) classes at school Paraphrase. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this idea because diet has the biggest impact on a students’ weight. There are reasons why I argue that diet has a bigger impact on one’s health than exercise during PE class. Topic Sentence First of all, it is easier to improve our health by changing our diet than doing more PE classes. Supporting Idea For instance, overweight students can simply eat less fat and sugar. Evidence Furthermore, it takes a lot of time to burn calories, which can consume in minutes. Supporting Idea So any benefits to a student’s health from a PE class can be cancelled out by simply eating a Snickers bar. Evidence Hence, schools should actively promote healthier diets to their students to help them to lose weight rather than adding more PE classes. Topic Sentence Most importantly, schools can ensure that only healthy food is served in the school canteen. Supporting Idea For example, food that is high in fat, sugar or salt should be banned. Evidence In addition, lessons on a balanced diet should be given during school time. Supporting Idea Such lessons should teach students about the dangers of obesity and how to maintain a healthy weight. Evidence In conclusion, having more PE classes isn’t the best way to address the problem of obesity. Conclusion If I were a school principal, I would introduce a healthier menu at the school canteen instead.