More and more people nowadays live in cities. Is this a negative or positive development?

Cities are often seen as places of opportunity, but there are some major drawbacks of living in a large metropolis. In my opinion, governments could do much more to improve city life for average inhabitant On the one hand, the main problem for anyone who hopes to migrate to a large city is that the cost of living is likely to be much higher than it is in a small town or village. Inhabitants of cities have to pay higher prices for housing, transport, and even food. Another issue is that urban areas tend to suffer from social problems such as high crime and poverty rates in comparison with rural areas. Furthermore, the air quality in cities is often poor, due to pollution from traffic, and the streets and public transport systems are usually overcrowded. As a result, city life can be unhealthy and stressful. However, there are various steps that the government could take to tackle these problems. Firstly, they could invest money in the building of affordable or social housing to reduce the cost of living. Secondly, politicians have the power to reduce vehicles from the city centers and promote citizen to use cleaner public transport, which would help to reduce both air pollution and traffic congestion. In Ha Noi or Ho Chi Minh city, for example, governments are planning to reduce motorbike in the urban to promote inhabitants to use public transport. But there are various remaining traffic problems like optimal public transport systems to adapt to the transfer of rising citizens. A third option would be to develop provincial towns and rural areas, by moving industry and jobs to those regions, to reduce the pressure on major cities. In conclusion, governments could certainly implement a range of measures to enhance the quality of life for all city residents.