Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Ever since the advent of solar energy, there have been controversies as to whether this source of energy benefits humankind. This prevailing form of energy, from my perspective, manifests more positives than negatives. The driving forces behind this trend probably stem from the growing concern involved environmental degradation and genetic integrity. In other words, burning fossil fuels releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which induces ozone depletion as well as accelerates global warming and climate change. Furthermore, scores of individuals believe that nuclear power is potentially treacherous and radioactive waste might cause harmful genetic mutation and severe deformity to the future generation. The main advantages of solar energy are indubitably its environmental friendliness and free electricity generation post-setup. More specifically, after a photovoltaic system has been installed, there are no extra costs required throughout the electricity production harnessing sunshine. However, solar thermal power plants, with their extreme fragility, are likely to be devastated by natural disasters, such as earthquakes or sandstorms, consequently incurring enormous expenses in order to supersede damaged solar cells. Above all, dissimilar to other alternatives, solar power neither contaminates nor wreaks havoc on the eco-system because its raw material, sunlight, does not need extracting nor refining. Therefore, it greatly diminishes pollutants and toxic residue discharged. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that solar panels do pollute the environment to a certain extent. For example, it was cited in a report that it would take 19 years to recycle all the solar waste that Japan is expected to produce by 2020. Despite that, not only does the decentralisation of the power source lead to savings on transmission, but also to more self-sufficient communities – the ability to produce their own energy source can be of great assistance to remote areas. In conclusion, as the solution to possible hereditary and environmental predicaments, the assets of such a clean, renewable, eco-friendly, human-safe energy generator, typically solar power, far outweigh the inconveniences, assuming there is proper maintenance provided.