With growing population in cities, more and more people live in a home with small or no outdoor areas. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is argued that plenty of people in urban areas tend to opt for small-space living without outside areas. Personally, I believe that this tendency produces both benefits and drawbacks. There are several cost-related advantages of living in small spaces. In many countries, mass migrations from rural areas to megacities have increased population density, leading to high house prices. Therefore, it would be more thrifty for new residents to rent small flats compared with houses with personalized outdoor spaces, especially for those with low incomes. In Da Nang city, for example, while a small apartment maybe around 70, 000 dollars, a moderate-sized house with open space costs at least 200, 000 dollars. Additionally, people living in small flats do not need to spend a lot of expenditure on appliances or home maintenance, hence putting a little extra money each month into savings account. Despite the benefits mentioned above, I believe that small accommodations can bring disadvantages to citizens. Firstly, living in thiss type of accommodation could result in a lack of privacy, exerting negative influences on an individual’s independence. For instance, it is difficult for me to spend time alone because I live with my sister and my uncle in a cramped flat in a high-rise building. Secondly, outdoor spaces like front yards are an ideal place to do exercise and organize family activities such as barbecue party. Living in a house without any open spaces would discourage people from doing such activities, causing them to suffer from a sedentary lifestyle. In conclusion, I argue that dwelling in small houses or flats without open spaces has both beneficial and detrimental effects.