More and more people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses for communities in poorer countries. Why young people choose to do so? Who will benefit more: young people or the communities?

Nowadays, adolescents from developed countries have a tendency to devote a short time to doing volunteer activities such as teaching or house construction for the poorer ones. Some explanations will be put forwards before benefits that both youngsters and the host countries gained. There are two fundamental reasons why the youth make a decision for doing the job with no salary. First and foremost, young persons would like to have a chance to be exposed to a wide range of challenges. This is because whenever they come to remote areas, they need make an effort to solve hardship situations which will sharp them into more stronger and experienced persons. Secondly, a huge amount of prevalent points for their curriculum vitae also obtained after doing unpaid job. This is because almost all of the organizations also reward certificate for participants. Hence, the chance to meet job standard and be selected by the employer will more enhanced. At the same time, volunteer activities for the poorer countries also bring benefits for both the host country and the volunteer people. In terms of supported countries, the living standard of residents will be heightened. As inhabitants will have opportunities to live in accommodations with no fear of homeless whenever natural disaster happen. Furthermore, children also broaden their knowledge through free lessons of volunteer people. Regarding volunteer adolescents, they will acquire profound understanding of the misery and hardship of the inhabitants. Therefore, a sense of humanity and altruism will be fostered in their own and make them more value their current condition they have. To conclude, the value related to rewarding experiences and job opportunities are two main causes for doing unpaid work of the young. These activities bring benefits for not only volunteer persons but also communities.