More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefit from this, the community or these young people?

It is true that the young in developed countries tend to do some part-time voluntary work to help people in developing ones. Reasons for this vary, and I believe that the trend is beneficial to both the community and these youngsters. There are several reasons why in industrialized countries, the young generation favors devoting their spare time to volunteer as teachers or builders in underdeveloped countries. Developing countries are in need of help from developed ones in dealing with economic difficulties and poor education. Young people in wealthy nations, who have money and strength, can give considerable support such as raising money for charity or building houses for people living in poverty. Many young people also help to improve environmental problems in many poor countries through waste removal projects. Besides, in advanced nations, as young people having high social welfare, they can spend time on other things besides making money and they often prefer travel, encounter people from all over the world and help the poor. Personally, I contend that the trend described above can offer both the community and participants obvious advantages. The positive effect on the community is that poor countries can improve their living standards. Young people from developed countries can provide many low-income households with financial support such as voluntary donations and promote a substantial number of children's literacy by educating them. Meanwhile, youngsters can look to gain practical experience. While engaging in voluntary activities, they can meet people, make friends and learn new skills namely leadership or communication skills, which play a major role for young people to succeed in life. In conclusion, I personally believe that the trend is advantageous to both the community and young people at the same time.