More and more people buy a wide range of household goods such astelevision, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive ornegative development?

With the development of technology, people are now owning more goods for their home. Although this development is beneficial to manufacturers and the economy, I think in the long run, it would be harmful to the environment. It is reasonable why this trend is considered temporarily positive. The fact that many people are buying household goods can be interpreted as more and more people are investing their effort in their families. This conveys a positive social message, that the overall living standards are improving and that families are spending more time together, hence the demand for household equipment. Secondly, this trend will expand the market, which is beneficial to manufacturers. However, in the long run, this consumption trend can be negative. Buying numerous household goods is one of the many forms of excessive consumerism. When people are affected by excessive consumerism, their priorities in life will be distorted. Instead of focusing on using their own existing goods, they will have an urge to buy and own more goods. This development is not positive for the environment. Owning more products means using up more natural resources. Also, when people want to replace owned products, they will dispose large amounts of waste. There is scientific evidence showing that discarded household appliances are very harmful when disposed to the environment in large quantities. The development of this shopping trend of many people might seems to benefit the economy at first glance. However, in the long run, this development will leave negative impacts on the environment. Therefore, people should understand where to draw the line between investing effort in their family, and affecting the environment.