In many countries, more and more people buy a wide range of household goods like television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

More and more people buy a wide range of household goods like television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Over the past decades, the development of technology has never failed to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although an overwhelming majority of families have possessed more than one piece of electrical device with the proliferation of high-tech products in every walk of life, the issue as to whether it does more good than harm or not remains controversial. In my opinion, household goods, if properly used, can bring you more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, household goods have improved the quality of life. In fact, thanks to the sophisticated design, doing domestic chores ceases to be a bother. For instance, a vacuum cleaner can help make even the carpeted floor dustless and a micro-wave oven can make cooking a manageable and enjoyable process. Similar advantages also apply to washing machines, dish- washers, dryers, and refrigerators. Thus, the time and energy saved allow people to work and rest better. This example indicates that the more free time you save due to having appliances, the more other things you are capable of doing at your will. On the other hand, the opponents may argue that it can be a potential threat to the health of family members and the environment as a whole. Those who are against buying a wide range of household goods hold their views for reasons. Firstly, the convenience brought about by the appliances also encourage owners to adopt sedentary lifestyle and inactivity. For instance, they deprive users of the possibilities to consume a huge number of calories at home, which, in a long run, is likely to undermine their health. Secondly, electrical household goods usually get updated at a high rate due to the ever-advancing technology, and the accompanying mass production will drive the exploration of natural resources. In conclusion, nowadays electrical appliances bring both boons and banes. If they are used carefully and scrupulously, its advantages will eclipse its disadvantages.