More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that raising the price of fast foods will solve the problems.

In many countries around the world, a large number of people are getting obese. It is argued by some people that raising the price of high-fat food will reduce its consumption and thereby people’s overweight issue will be addressed. I disagree with the opinion because some people are addicted to fast food which contains high amount of fat and simply increasing the price will not cut down their fat intake. There are some other additional reasons for my view which will be stated in this essay. The most compelling reason for holding my view is that many youngsters are not ready to avoid ready-made food and its unique taste just because of a rise in price. Therefore, they continue to consume high-fat food items and ignore their health problems. For instance, McDonald’s outlets around the world deliver food which contains enormous amount of saturated fat. However, a study found that most people prefer McDonald food over healthy alternatives because of its distinctive taste. Thus, people are ready to buy those foods even for a higher price. Secondly, high-fat foods are not the only reason for obesity among people. Nowadays, a large number of people are leading a sedentary lifestyle which is considered as one of the major reasons for obesity. Therefore, physical exercise plays a vital role in maintaining a healthy body. Due to this reason, increasing the price of fatty foods does not solely address the overweight problem. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the opinion that increasing the price of fattening food is the ideal solution to control overweight of people. People are ready to pay higher price for foods which are easily available and having pleasant taste even if the fat content is higher. In addition, I believe that encouraging / promoting physical exercise is more crucial for maintaining body weight than regulating fatty food.