More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Working from home used to be considered incredibly uncommon. Employees spent their days in factories or offices, on building sites or farms. With the surge in popularity of the internet, seismic changes have taken place in work patterns. These days, administrators and professionals are often based in their own homes. This radical shift has had both positive and negative repercussions. Probably the most obvious benefits of working from home are flexibility, convenience and cost. To some extent, employees based in their own living-rooms can start and finish whenever it suits them. They can fit working hours around childcare, housework and other commitments. In addition, by not commuting, they save valuable time and avoid having to endure the stresses of traffic jams, road congestion, finding parking spaces, or using overcrowded train services. They cut costs as there is no need to pay parking charges or bus fares. However, although this arrangement might seem ideal, there are downsides. For many members of staff, the most enjoyable aspect of the work is the social interaction. The chance to gather with colleagues and gossip, joke or chat is a pleasurable element of the working lives of clerical staff, personal assistants and middle-managers. In addition, many working from home complain that their work-life balance is affected. They claim that it is difficult to switch off and wind down and that the barrier between working and relaxing becomes blurred and hazy. Overall, it is indisputable that working from home can be productive and satisfying. Nevertheless, anyone considering this option need to be aware of the potential pitfalls. It makes sense for businesses offering staff the chance to combine working at home and on the company’s premises. Many enlightened and forward-thinking firms have already put this policy into practice and I fervently hope that others will follow suit.