More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

No one can deny the fact that the concept of working from home is increasingly trending between companies nowadays. Because the companies noticed through some studies that the policy's advantages overcome its disadvantages. With some calculations and considerations, they concluded that they can save a lot of costs by applying this policy into their employment system. On one hand, it will cost less for employers to hire their employees remotely, simply because it will save them a space in the headquarters and the amenities needed for establishing an office for the employee. Also, it will save the company the perks that should have been provided to the same employee if he had worked at their premises. On the other hand, it will save the employee a lot of time and effort commuting to and back from work every day. Also, it will cost less for the same employee to prepare him or herself to work every day by dressing nice and having a variety of work clothes, which would have been needed if the employee had attended work at the office. One main weakness surrounding this policy is, it is not going to be sufficient for all departments to let their employees working from home. This policy will only be efficient for some departments only, for example, the IT department, but it is not going to work effectively with some other departments, for example, the operations department. In conclusion, I see, from my perspective, the advantages of implementing the policy of working from home outweigh the disadvantages. I recommend that all companies should consider the application of this policy into their next budget, as best as they can, for a better saving of costs.