Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

Some people are of the opinion that computers have more negative effects on children than positive ones when used every day. I strongly disagree with that view because I believe computer systems are essential for learning in todays society. However, care should be taken on the amount of time children spend using their devices daily. The use of computer systems is important for research and learning and as such it has a positive influence on a child's mental growth if used properly. Nowadays, most schools make use of them for teaching students and they also give take home assignments which usually have to be answered via the internet. For example, a recent study claims that secondary school students who study with the internet perform better than those who don't in their final exams. Computers are also a major tool for working in the society and having children interact with it on a daily basis prepares them for future jobs. Proffessions such as software development and graphic design requires a long time to be spent working with computer systems, therefore operating a computer system often can prepare a child for such careers. For example, Steve Jobs believed every child should have a personal computer by age 9 because he believed it would help them prepare for the future. One major reason people believe using computer devices daily is not good for children is the fear of addiction. However, I believe that setting healthy time boundaries for its use can help overcome such issues. In summary, children have more to gain presently and in the future from using computers daily in this modern age. They need it for study and it prepares them for many careers. However, care should be taken in the amount of time they operate their devices to help avoid any issues.