More and more businesses, as well as individuals, are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face.

Technology is permeating every aspect of human lives. This is apparent in the way in which both individuals and corporations are increasingly using technology to communicate rather than relying on the conventional face to face interactions. The advantages and disadvantages of this development will be analysed in this essay. On the one hand, many argue that technology has abolished the barriers among people and organisations. The most popular depiction cited for this is the shrinkage of time it took to communicate information from one party to another. For instance, Apple offers round the clock online customer services to its customers and potential customers, which enables their sales representatives to instantly respond to the questions posed by consumers. As a result, Apple’s customer service is well renowned for its promptness and quality of service. Hence, it is argued that online communication contributes positively to build harmonious relations between businesses and end-users. On the other hand, many contend that communication through technology has a quality of becoming an addiction to the users to the point where it consumes most of their time. For example, a recent survey by Reddit found that an average American spends around 5 hours a day on websites like Facebook and Twitter. Consequently, a large part of an individual’s day, which would be perhaps better spent on productive activities, is wasted. Thus, the negative aspects of disseminating information through such modern means are clear. After musing upon both the benefits and drawbacks of communication through the internet, it is felt that the merits of this trend outweigh its demerits. It is hoped that technology will continue playing its part in the betterment of the world.