More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

In this fast moving world, people are relying on technology more than ever. This can be seen in the way people communicate with each other these days either personally or professionally. Trends have changed from being in person for discussions to online chatting or phone calls. While this offers various advantages there are some disadvantages worth considering. To being with there are two major advantages of talking via messaging or calls. Firstly, for business professionals it saves time and is more precise. Going up to a person takes time and sometimes it also requires warming up the conversation, which leads to a discussion and hence takes up a lot of time. However sending a message via any instant message service provider or taking a call via skype saves time and useless discussions can be avoided. Furthermore, this stands true for personal conversations as well. Talking on phone or messages is more easier and saves times rather than face to face. For example, the discomfort of leaving your personal space can be avoided by dropping a message or by calling the person. On the other hand, always communicating via technology have various drawbacks as well. To start with, there is a higher risk of miscommunication via messaging as people can misread the emotions behind the text. This can lead to bitterness in the business or personal relations. Additionally, an individual can loose the confidence of speaking in front of people, which affects the individual’s personality and eventually leads to mental stress. In other words, it affects the health of the person. In conclusion, communicating via technology has both benefits and drawbacks, be it personal or professional. On one side, a lot of time can be saved by having precise conversations, while on other, the risk of miscommunication is higher alongwith the affects on mental health.