Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is individual responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat.

Who is responsible for limiting people’s sugar consumption has become a hot topic of discussion these days. Some people perceive that governments have the responsibility to do this while others believe that it is individual duty to control themselves to eat less sugar. In this essay, I shall discuss both perspectives in detail before reaching a final verdict that both perspectives hold equal significance. There are various compelling reasons why governments have the responsibility to do this and the prominent one is that authorities have the compulsive administrative power which enables them to launch numerous programs on a national level to raise public awareness and introduce new legislations to limit manufactures sugar production. To illustrate, local governments can force companies to put labels on the packages as a warning that eating too much sugar is detrimental to your health. For these reasons, it is significant to have administrative body’s participation. However, some oppose this notion and says that every one of us are accountable for decreasing the amount of sugar we intake as we need to realize that sugar leads to many diseases such as diabetes and acnes so it is essential for us to limit our sugar consumption if we want to keep us fit and healthy. Take myself for example, my pimples are getting better because I followed doctor’s advices that avoiding sugary products such as cokes and cakes. As can be seen, it is also beneficial for us to control sugar consumptions. To sum up, people’s opinion towards who has the duty to reduce the amount of sugar we consume is various. Taking everything into consideration, I’m inclined to say that it should be a combined effort of both individuals and authorities and a close collaboration of both can really make a difference.