Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

Items under copyright are generally for exclusive users who abide by the terms and conditions of the copyright holder. Latest technology has enabled the people to download the copyrighted information, picture, music, books and so on without fulfilling the guidelines under the copyright. I believe that this trend is certainly not encouraging as knowingly or unknowingly, people violate the laws. People obtain the exclusive rights on items after spending efforts, money or other personal resources and such kind of rights protect the person from copycat or unauthorized users. Downloading music or books which are under limited rights without consent of owner is illegal and violators may be subject to prosecution. For example, my friend used the copyrighted song in his corporate presentation and later on got notice for illegal use of songs without permission. Furthermore, owner who creates or invent the product for financial gain incur heavy loss as people do not pay anything in return of download. As result, industries such as entertainment, publishing, designing etc. go through difficult times and sometimes closedown the operation. Not only the financial loss and illegal use but downloading from internet also disturb the ecosystem of innovation. Why would someone invest time and money in creating the music if it does not pay the return? These habits of downloading restricted stuff from internet dissuade people to go for invention. For instance, in Bollywood, no of original music composers reduced significantly owing to no control on web access. Besides, lots of industries come in conflict with masses when applying control on free downloading and initiate action against violators. To sum-up, though internet is free and people have every right to get benefit from information available on internet, copyright information should not be used and download free of cost without consent of owner. I see this as disturbing pattern when people access information without permission or pay any cost.