Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives.

Information technology has changed the way humans communicate, such that it is often thought to reduce the time people allocate for being with friends. While some consider that this advancement has only damaged their social lives, in my view, modern ways of communication have benefits that outweigh the costs. Never has technology been more integrated to the way people interact with each other. It has gotten to a whole new level where it allows humans to communicate without leaving their houses, which was the primary form of social interaction, besides writing mails. Therefore, it is understandable that laypeople are worried that this ease of communication might jeopardise their social lives. After all, meeting people in real life delivers lots of non-literal elements of human interaction, which are unquestionably essential yet sometimes hindered by social media. However, the advantages offered by non-conventional communication types are often overlooked when people only focus on the negative impacts. Some decades ago, it would be just a daydream to talk in a real-time conversation with someone who lived on the other side of the earth. Furthermore, not only can people converse swiftly despite long distances, they can also socialise with new people as easily as they do with their best friends. Other perks can be seen in a larger picture, for example, it is now just some clicks away from gathering mass participation in social causes that help those in needs. All of these would not have happened had it not because of progressive technology of modern communication. To summarise, today’s forms of human interaction may cause some disadvantages, especially to social aspects. Nevertheless, they also carry lots of advantages that surpass the drawbacks. Information technology wields a great power for enhancing human life that must be harnessed carefully in order to bring out the best of it.