Some people believe that society is becoming less friendly these days. Why do you think this might be? Suggest some ways in which this can be reversed.

In the contemporary world, there is a belief that our community is becoming less close-knit. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this phenomenon and figure out some cures to addressing this. There are two pivotal factors that cause our social relationships drifting apart. First, technology development, especially the Internet, make people focusing on virtual life more. For instance, many people are stuck behind their computer all day to surfing the web, make new friends on social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, … instead of concerning about their factual relationships. Second, nowadays, the burden on each individual is becoming heavier and heavier. We need to compete vigorously with each other to promote on the career ladder, work hard to gain enough money to supply our high living standard. That is the reasons why people do not have enough time and energy to care about others anymore. However, some measures can be taken to preserve the friendly relationships in our society. First, individuals should learn how to manage well the time they spend on social networking sites. For example, we just utilise the Internet when needed, we curtail the time for surfing the web and using technology gadgets. Instead, we can hang out with our friends or have dinner with our family. Second, it is really important to maintain a work-life balance. People should not be too insatiable in the workplace. Of course, being motivated is good but we need to know spending time on other aspects of our life such as family, marriage, friendship, etc. In conclusion, although our community is not as friendly as before, but by identifying the reasons, we can take some solutions to make our society more close-knit.