More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing and medicine. Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are stealing from poor countries. Others feel that this is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world.

Professionals moving to developed countries from developing countries has been on a rise in recent years. Some are of the belief that rich countries are being unfair by luring these qualified professionals while others believe that it is just human behaviour to look for better opportunities. I completely agree with the latter as any person who feels undervalued in any way, feels limited in resources to progress further will look elsewhere but also the same person can come back to contribute to his/her original country from what they have learned and experienced abroad. To begin with, anyone who feels restricted in their line of work in whichever way will look somewhere else. There is nothing wrong with and in fact, it is a trait of improvement. For example, many Indian students opt for Masters in countries like the USA, Canada or Australia as they feel like the syllabus and way of teaching Masters in India is obsolete. So to get a better education a lot of Indians prefer studying Post Graduate from a developed country and usually take a job there. Hence as part of natural selection, they grow their knowledge base in a better place and work there as it seems more fitting. In addition, developed countries being open to talented professionals from developing countries should not be thought as of stealing. Many of these professionals come back to their own country after a couple of years with the knowledge and experience they have gained which is beneficial for the home country. For example, in recent research on top 50 tech companies in India, around 70% of these companies had founders who studied abroad, worked there in big companies and came back to India. But now they have started their own successful companies which are benefiting India both economically and technologically. Therefore, professionals working abroad who come back to their own country actually benefit their country. In conclusion, professionals who move to work in a rich country is a trait of progress and is beneficial for the individual and the home country as well once they are back. This doesn’t mean that rich countries are stealing professionals for their own gain but in fact, is a transaction of mutual gain.