Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. with this statement?

In recent years, the way we reach out to each other, has changed dramatically. With new technological advances, there are various alterantive available at our disposal. While most of the world has adopted newer, technologically advanced way of correspondance, some people still use the old method of writing letters. I believe it's not always needed to write letters, but it should not be completely out of use either. Since we have new, faster and reliable ways available to get our messages across, I think its logical to use one of those methods. For example, an E-mail would carry the information much faster to its destination compared to a hand-written note. Also, the internet is available at the tip of our fingers all the time, which makes the job even easier and cost effective. That being said, the hand-written correspondance still holds some value. In other words, think how personal and emotionally appreciated it feels, when we receive a personal letter or a greeting card in post over christmas, instead of getting a christmas greeting email. A physical letter gives the definite feeling of satisfaction, that the writer has invested the time and the energy to produce it. This little detail makes the experience all the more cherishable. Additionally, sometimes this older way provides the security of storing the sensitive information, far away from the prying eyes of the internet. In summary, even though the growth in technology, has made it really easy to send or receive messages almost instantly, the hand-written communication still holds its own value. I personally don't believe that any one method will completely replace the other, but newer ways of communication will definitely keep dominating the usage ratio of them all.