Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. with this statement?

In a recent few decades, we have witnessed the dramatic development of information technology and the way of communication has also been drastically changed. Given this situation, some people would think that it is no longer necessary for us to write letters. Generally, I agree with this idea; we can exchange our messages by utilizing a variety of devices and the opportunity to use fountain pens has been decreased. However, I suppose that letters are still necessary in some cases. In the following analysis, I would like to reason and provide some evidence to support my position. Nowadays, smartphone and computers have become crucial devices for our daily life. I suppose that many people think that they would not be able to survive without them. Recently, we can communicate with each other by using these devices, and many people are connected through social networking service (SNS). For instance, I can keep in touch with friends living in foreign countries and I enjoy sending birthday wishes to them by using Facebook. On the other hand, because it takes a long time for us to communicate via letters, I do not write a letter for a decade. Considering this, I think that letters do not play an important role in today’s society. However, I strongly believe that letters will not (and should not) disappear. The main reason is that not all people can utilize the abovementioned devices. For example, my grandfather, who is a kind of “technophobia”, does not like to use a smartphone and he often writes letters to my family. I have to admit that he is outdated; however, I strongly believe that we should not deprive these people of the communication tool. In addition, a research implemented in Japan has shown that about half of elderly people do not understand how to use the Internet. This fact implicates that it is impossible for us to eradicate letters. This is why I would like to state that letters are still necessary. In a nutshell, the way of communication has changed and letters are not necessary especially for the young generation. However, we should not forget that some people are really poor at using new technology. I hope that societies are tolerant to these people.